My first trip to Ozzie’s

(February 9, 2017)

Ozzies Bar As I continue on my Thursday Arts Night Out pilgrimages, I ventured down to the Seattle Center last night to take in the Seattle Shakespeare Bring Down The House production at the Armory.It was a slow night for Mercer Street so I made it there in plenty of time for dinner. Having done lots of (not so good) thai recently I passed on the multiple choices. Dick’s is always an option, but trying to go a bit more healthy these days. I kept walking down Mercer past Queen Anne and stumbled into Ozzie’s, a dive bar just past Queen Anne St. The main attraction was the TVs showing the 2nd half of the UNC-Duke basketball game.

It’s an odd layout with pool tables in a wide open back, a bar on the side with some booths along the side and then an orthogonal room for parties or karaoke on the opposite end. I grabbed a booth by the door and got caught up on the very close game.

While the menu has an assortment of diner selections it also provides some wraps and healthier alternatives. I went for the Turkey Club and tater tots which were outstanding. A large glass of cold milk was the perfect complement.

Not the best atmosphere and needs more of a culinary smell vs. crusty building feel but still a good spot for a quick, cheap bite with no complications.

Leave a comment